Snapchat is a mobile app that allows you to send videos and pictures to your Snapchat contacts, but will disappear after a few seconds of the person viewing them. Snapchat also allows you to send direct messages, where you can capture a photo or brief video, add a caption or filter over the top, and then send the finished ‘snap’ to a friend.
Alternatively, you can also add your snap to your “story”, which is a collection of your snaps that are live for your contacts to view for 24 hours only, and then will also disappear.
Last week, Snapchat released a new feature called ‘Snapmaps’. This allows users to see where in the country their Snapchat contacts are, as well as seeing location based photos and videos. This feature allows others to accurately pinpoint where you are. There are three possible privacy settings:
- Ghost mode, where only you can see your position;
- My Friends mode, where any contact can see your location; and
- Select Friends mode, just those who you choose can see you
Read Childnet’s guide on how to change your settings in order to stay safe, whilst using the app